Council

Monday, 16th May, 2011 5.00 - 5.10 pm

Attendees	
Councillors:	Anne Regan (Chair for agenda item 1-3), Barbara Driver (Chair for agenda item 4-11), Ian Bickerton, Nigel Britter, Chris Coleman, Tim Cooper, Bernard Fisher, Jacky Fletcher, Wendy Flynn, Rob Garnham, Penny Hall, Colin Hay (Vice Chair for agenda item 5-11), Rowena Hay, Peter Jeffries, Steve Jordan, Paul Massey, Helena McCloskey, Andrew McKinlay, Heather McLain, Paul McLain, John Rawson, Diggory Seacome, Malcolm Stennett, Charles Stewart, Klara Sudbury, Lloyd Surgenor, Jon Walklett, Paul Wheeldon, Simon Wheeler and Roger Whyborn
Also in attendance:	Sara Freckleton (Borough Solicitor and Monitoring Officer) and Andrew North (Chief Executive)

Minutes

1. PRAYERS

In the absence of her chaplain who was not able to attend this meeting, the Mayor, Councillor Regan, opened the meeting with a prayer.

2. APOLOGIES

Apologies were received from Councillors Godwin, Barnes, MacDonald, Thornton and Webster.

3. ELECTION OF MAYOR 2011 - 2012

Councillor Driver was proposed for the office of Mayor by Councillor Garnham and seconded by Councillor Seacome.

Upon a vote it was unanimously

RESOLVED that Councillor Driver be, and is hereby, elected Mayor of the Borough of Cheltenham and Council chairman for the ensuing year.

The Chief Executive invited the Mayor to sign a Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Council chairman for the ensuing municipal year 2011 – 2012.

Councillor Driver took the chair.

4. ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR 2011 - 2012

Councillor Jordan congratulated Councillor Driver on her election as Mayor and proposed Councillor Colin Hay for the office of Deputy Mayor, seconded by Councillor Rowena Hay.

Upon a vote it was unanimously

RESOLVED that Councillor Colin Hay be, and is hereby, elected Deputy Mayor of the Borough of Cheltenham and Council vice-chairman for the ensuing year.

The Mayor congratulated Councillor Colin Hay on his appointment and looked forward to working with him over the coming year.

The Chief Executive invited the Deputy Mayor to sign a Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Council vice-chairman for the ensuing municipal year 2011 – 2012.

- 5. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST None declared.
- 6. TO APPROVE AND CONFIRM THE MINUTES OF THE MEETING HELD ON 28 MARCH 2011

The minutes of the last meeting had been circulated with the agenda.

Upon a vote it was unanimously

RESOLVED that the minutes of the meeting held on the 28 March 2011 be agreed and signed as an accurate record.

7. COMMUNICATIONS BY THE MAYOR

No communications were made by the Mayor.

8. NOTICES OF MOTION

No motions were received.

9. TO RECEIVE PETITIONS

No petitions were received.

10. ANY OTHER ITEM THE MAYOR DETERMINES AS URGENT AND WHICH REQUIRES A DECISION

The Mayor invited the Chief Executive to announce committee changes of which he had been notified as the proper officer.

The Chief Executive advised members that he had been notified by the Leader of the Conservative Group, Councillor Duncan Smith that;

- Councillor Regan would replace Councillor Driver on Social and Community Overview and Scrutiny Committee
- Councillor H McLain would replace Councillor MacDonald on Licensing Committee

This was noted by members.

11. CLOSE

The Mayor reminded everyone that the Inauguration ceremony would take place at 6.30pm in the Town Hall. All members should wear their robes, which

Draft minutes to be approved at the next meeting on Monday, 27 June 2011.

should be collected from the Cambray Room before making their way to the Town Hall by 6.10pm.

In the meantime, cakes and tea were available in the committee lobby.

Barbara Driver Chairman